Deutsche Bahn
Project: Deutsche Bahn AG, Framework agreement tool

At a glance

customer Deutsche Bahn AG
branch Logistics, Mobility
project Deutsche Bahn framework agreement tool 2.0
solution Individual software solution
technologies Kotlin/JS, Angular, PostgreSQL

Result in brief

  • Cloud-based web application for determining the most economical framework agreement partners
  • Group-wide use of a bundled system instead of many individual program modules
  • Significant time savings through direct supplier queries in one tool without media discontinuity

About Deutsche Bahn

"Deutsche Bahn AG" is wholly owned by the Federal Republic of Germany and combines a total of more than 600 subsidiaries. With annual sales of 39.9 billion euros, the company employs more than 322,768 people (as of 2020).

The Challenge

Since 2006/2007, Deutsche Bahn AG had already been using the system programmed by Plan Software to query services and capacities for framework agreement recalls. The company regulates prices and delivery conditions for a fixed catalog of services in the framework agreements, e.g., construction supervision services, track planning, or rail technology supervision. Until 2019, 16 framework agreement tools managed the framework agreement families. The framework was integrated into an "umbrella application" over the years. Given increased requirements, including ICT security, Deutsche Bahn AG looked for a more efficient, uniform, and modern solution.

The Solution

In 2019, Deutsche Bahn engaged Plan Software to program the framework agreement tool 2.0. N4 Leipzig was entrusted with the implementation and started the project in November 2019. Various requirements and user experience workshops ensured that the development focused on the users and their actual needs. These efforts quickly resulted in a prototype that depicted the system realistically and thus provided a perfect template for development. From the very beginning, the cooperative partnership between all participants was a top priority and an essential factor for the project's success.

The result is a solution that combines efficiency and outstanding usability. Whereas it was previously necessary to communicate with suppliers by email, the new system enables working without media discontinuity. By September 2021, the transfer of all framework agreement families from the old tool has been completed, so it is no longer in use.

User acceptance and satisfaction are incredibly high. Deutsche Bahn employees can now access the new tool via the intranet and quickly request services and capacities from suppliers, thus determining the most cost-effective contractor. The system also calculates billed services according to the Ordinance on Architects’ and Engineers’ Fees (HOAI). Every year, Deutsche Bahn conducts a customer or user survey on satisfaction with the IT applications for which the procurement department is responsible. The RV tool achieved an excellent result in this survey: Thanks to its user-oriented application development and good user support, the web solution came out on top of the 13 IT applications surveyed.
we solved it.

“Our team, and especially my supervisor, just gave a word of praise to the developers and emphasized how intuitive the framework agreement tool finally is. And how much it simplifies the work and our internal process with our account-based purchasing“
Michaela Urrutia Flesch,
DB Station&Service AG from Frankfurt am Main, Germany

The digital journey with Deutsche Bahn continues rapidly. The next project will be launched shortly: an intuitive cloud-based web application for digitizing contract awarding for architectural and engineering services. Implementing this so-called A+I tool is intended to significantly reduce the effort involved in tendering for services for all parties, especially for purchasers.

Deutsche Bahn
Projekt: Deutsche Bahn AG, Rahmenvertragstool

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Deutsche Bahn AG
Branche Logistik, Mobilität
Projekt Deutsche Bahn Rahmenvertragstool 2.0
Lösungen Individuelle Sowareentwicklung
Technologien Kotlin/JS, Angular, PostgreSQL

Ergebnis in Kürze

  • Cloudbasierte Webanwendung zur Ermittlung der wirtschaftlichsten Rahmenvertragspartner
  • Konzernweite Nutzung eines gebündelten Systems statt vieler Einzelprogrammbausteine
  • Signifikante Zeitersparnis durch direkte Lieferantenabfrage in einem Tool ohne Medienbruch

Die Herausforderung

Die Deutsche Bahn AG nutzte bereits seit 2006/2007 das von Plan Software programmierte System zur Leistungs- und Kapazitätenabfrage bei Rahmenvertragsabrufen. In den Rahmenverträgen regelt das Unternehmen Preise und Lieferbedingungen für einen festgeschriebenen Leistungskatalog, bspw. Bauüberwachungsleistungen, Fahrbahnplanung oder Schienentechnik-Überwachung. Bis 2019 wurden die Rahmenvertragsfamilien in über 16 verschiedenen RV-Tools verwaltet, die über die Jahre in eine „Dachanwendung“ integriert wurden. Angesichts gestiegener Anforderungen, u.a. auch an die IKT-Sicherheit, war die Deutsche Bahn AG auf der Suche nach einer effizienteren, einheitlichen und modernen Lösung.

Die Lösung

Im Jahr 2019 beauftragte die Deutsche Bahn Plan Software mit der Programmierung des RV-Tools 2.0. Mit der Umsetzung wurde die N4 Leipzig betraut, die im November 2019 mit dem Projekt startete. In verschiedenen Anforderungs- und UX-Workshops wurde sichergestellt, dass bei der Entwicklung die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer sowie deren tatsächliche Bedürfnisse im Fokus stehen. So entstand schnell ein Prototyp, der das System realitätsnah abbildete und damit eine perfekte Vorlage für die Entwicklung darstellte. Von Beginn an war das Projekt von einer bemerkenswert guten und partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen Beteiligten geprägt — ein wesentlicher Faktor für den Projekterfolg.

Entstanden ist eine Lösung, die Effizienz und hervorragende Usability kombiniert. Während zuvor mit Lieferanten noch per E-Mail kommuniziert werden musste, ermöglicht das neue System ein Arbeiten ohne Medienbrüche. Im September 2021 waren alle Rahmenvertragsfamilien aus dem alten RV-Tool übertragen, sodass dieses fortan nicht mehr zum Einsatz kommt.

Die Nutzerakzeptanz und -zufriedenheit ist außerordentlich hoch. Mitarbeitende der Deutschen Bahn können nun über das Intranet auf das neue Tool zugreifen und schnell Leistungen und Kapazitäten bei Lieferanten anfragen und somit den wirtschaftlichsten Auftragnehmer ermitteln. Auch Leistungen, die über die Honorarordnung für Architekt:innen und Ingenieur:innen (HOAI) abgerechnet werden, kalkuliert das System. In der jährlichen Kunden- bzw. Nutzerbefragung zur Zufriedenheit mit den durch die Beschaffung der Deutschen Bahn verantworteten IT-Anwendungen erzielt das RV-Tool ein hervorragendes Ergebnis: Dank der nutzerorientierten Anwendungsentwicklung und des guten Anwendersupports schafft es die Weblösung an die Spitze der 13 befragten IT-Anwendungen.
we solved it.

Unser Team und vor allem mein Vorgesetzter haben ein großes Lob an die Entwickler:innen ausgesprochen und betont, wie intuitiv das RV-Tool nun endlich ist. Und wie sehr es die Arbeit und auch unseren internen Ablauf mit unserem kontierten Einkauf vereinfacht.“
Michaela Urrutia Flesch,
DB Station&Service AG aus Frankfurt am Main

Die digitale Reise mit der Deutschen Bahn geht zügig weiter. In Kürze startet schon das nächste gemeinsame Projekt: Eine intuitive cloudbasierte Webanwendung zur Digitalisierung der Vergaben von Architektur- und Ingenieurleistungen. Mit der Umsetzung dieses sog. A+I-Tools soll für alle Beteiligten, insbesondere für Einkäufer:innen, der mit Leistungsausschreibungen verbundene Aufwand maßgeblich reduziert werden.